Towaliga Baptist Church, named for the river which flows nearby, was founded July 30, 1825, with twenty-six members. Twelve articles of faith were adopted and have not changed.
The original building, erected on the present church grounds, was a log structure completed in 1826. The land was donated by William McWhorter; and the building cost four hundred dollars, measured thirty feet by forty feet. For eighty years, services were held on the third Sunday of each month. For one hundred years, revival was held in August of each year.
In 1881, the original building was replaced by a new white frame structure, which stood until it was destroyed by fire on November 12, 1944. A new sanctuary building was dedicated on Novenber 30, 1947. Four additions were made to that building as the congregation grew, and the need for new space became necessary. A pastorium was built in 1977 on Highway 36 but was later sold. A building program was begun in 1998, and additional Sunday School rooms and a large fellowship hall were dedicated in 1999. The present sanctuary was dedicated in November 2000.
Towaliga currently has a membership of three hundred twenty-five and continues to experience growth under the leadership of the Holy Spirit. We are a Southern Baptist church with emphasis upon missions, evengelism, and a commitment to ministry wherever the need exists.
Throughout the history of Towaliga Baptist Church, one thing has remained constant: Jesus Christ is the foundation upon which the church was founded and the focus upon which all ministry is based. Devotion to God and the unity of spirit are the objectives of the people of Towaliga as they walk with Christ.